background image

Benin, officially known as the Republic of Benin and formerly as Dahomey, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo, Nigeria, Burkina Faso and Niger. The economy mainly depends on subsistence farming, cotton production which accounts for 40% of GDP and 80% of exports. Benin is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The currency of Benin is CFA Franc (FCFA / XOF).


APIEX One-Stop Shop (Agence de Promotion des Investissements et des Exportations)
BEPS Base Erosion and Profit Shifting
CFC Controlled Foreign Corporation
ECOWAS Economic Community of West African States
GAAR General Anti-Avoidance Rule
IFRS International Financial Reporting Standards
OHADA Organization for the Harmonization of Business Law in Africa
PE Permanent Establishment
SARL Limited liability company
SA Public Limited Company
WAEMU West African Economic and Monetary Union
VAT Value Added Tax