background image

The Eastern Republic of Uruguay is located in southeastern South America bordering the countries of Argentina and Brazil, and the Atlantic Ocean. The country's economy is based primarily on its export-oriented agricultural sector, international transportation, and telecommunications and information technology. Uruguay is open to foreign investment and does not place restrictions on participation.

Currency is Uruguayan Peso (UYU).


APA Advance Pricing Agreement
CFC Controlled Finance Corporation
GAAR General Anti-Avoidance Rule
LLC Limited Liability Company
OECD Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
PE Permanent Establishment
TP Transfer Pricing
UYU Uruguayan Peso
VAT Value Added Tax
WHT Withholding Tax