background image
UK Joining Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement — Orbitax Tax News & Alerts

The UK Government has announced that negotiations were concluded on 31 March 2023 for the UK to join the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). The current agreement was signed by 11 countries on 8 March 2018 and incorporates, by reference, the provisions of the original Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement, signed 4 February 2016, with the exception of a limited set of provisions. The signatories include Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam. A Protocol of Accession for the UK is currently under legal review. Once signed, it will need to be ratified by the UK and each of the existing CPTPP parties before entering into force.

Click the following link for a policy paper on the conclusion of negotiations.